Feeling Good

I’ve never read the book Anne of Green Gable written by L. M. Montgomery, a Canadian writer. The book is supposed to be a classic literature. Curiosity took over me and I came across with Chapter 5: Anne’s History.

“Well, that is another hope gone. `My life is a perfect graveyard of buried hopes.’ That’s a sentence I read in a book once, and I say it over to comfort myself whenever I’m disappointed in anything.”

This part I think says it all why she committed suicide. She FIRMLY believed on this.

It’s unfortunate during that era there was little help when it comes to mental health. Now, we are open about it due to media-hype-awareness and medical professions are better trained.

I am fortunate enough to have access to medical help and belong to a caring community. Without them, I wouldn’t be here advocating for mental health. Telling my story as to what happened is no help. There are plenty of well written stories out there that you can borrow from the library. I think the best thing I did for my wellness was reading autobiographical books on how some people survived such as Patty Duke and William Styron have transcend from their illness and still remain highly functional in spite of their dysfunction.

The best medical attention offered to me as a test subject or to put it crudely a “guinea pig” was CBT (Cognitive Behavior Therapy) modeled from Feeling Good by Dr. David Burns for 10 weeks.

Since I’ve lost so much time of my life being hospitalized, what’s another 10 weeks? So I joined.

What I came away with the program and condensed it into a two-page document that I can refer to when something bugs me as well as share the information to others that might benefit from it is this:

The therapy supplemented by proper medication works. Incidentally, I discovered his site on Feeling Good.

Be well and remain well.

Note: "Let's Talk" awareness week in Canada.The First Step

2 thoughts on “Feeling Good

Leave your presence on this space.

