In Training

A Chinese Elm pending (training date unknown) at the National Bonsai and Penjing Museum in Washington, DC.

A Chinese Elm pending (training date unknown) at the National Bonsai and Penjing Museum in Washington, DC.

Voss would visit the arboretum whenever he had a free moment over the course of about a year. He would choose one tree to focus on each day and sit for hours on end, face-to-face with these epic yet small living beings.

“What [the bonsai masters] are trying to do is reveal the essence of the tree—look at the chaos of nature and find its truest, most honest form, and give it a kind of visual harmony,”

“To me, it speaks to a hope for the future. This thing that they have devoted their entire lives to will be passed on and inherited by someone else.”

“I hope that these photographs will give people a sense [of] what it’s like to be in the presence of the trees. For me, it’s a really calming and humbling experience. I want the images to capture the empathy and hope that I feel are baked into these trees, given their age and how long they last.”

I started two Bonsai trees this year (again). A few trees have died in the process in years past. What I learnt in the process is not so much about the tree but more about myself. For one, discipline. I need to be more disciplined. Then, only then, I will be able to train a tree.

Via National Geographic:  Visualizing the meditative lives of bonsai trees by Janna Dotschkal

7 thoughts on “In Training

  1. I love Bonsai Tree. I had one for a couple of years (started it myself) and one day when I went out of town for a vacation, I asked a friend to take care of it. When I came back, the tree died. It broke my heart… never had another one. Hope you enjoy yours. Take care.

Leave your presence on this space.

