An Open Wall

Wall St. Stephen's Gate

 

This is more than a crack on the wall, it’s one of the gates of Jerusalem called St. Stephen’s Gate or Lion’s Gate.

I spent more time on the walls of the gate, soaking up the atmosphere, listening to the walls, watching people go by, alone.

My main reason for searching for this gate is to show to my friend who was utterly disgusted by the history of what Saul did to Stephen. As much as I tried to reason with her that it was a said incident in history, I am not condoning the act.

The act, the barbaric act that happened was the stoning of Stephen to death by order of Saul. Saul terrorized the Christians. Stephen became the first Christian martyr.

For every offence, there is redemption. Saul became a convert to Christianity and became St. Paul.

“Saul, Saul, why do you persecute me?” (Acts 9:4, NIV)

When Saul asked who was speaking to him, the voice replied, “I am Jesus, whom you are persecuting. Now get up and go into the city, and you will be told what you must do.” (Acts 9:5-6, NIV)

It is a sad story. I must stop here now for I am feeling emotional.

8 thoughts on “An Open Wall

Leave your presence on this space.

