Cadillac Ride of the Desert

Riding a camel is not as easy as riding a horse.

I remember having to ride on one and rely on this beast climbing Mount Sinai in pitch dark. I closed my eyes so that I don’t get scared and listened to the whispers of the guides even though I don’t understand their language. The sound of their voice is soothing and the soft movement of the camel as it traverse the stony path calms me down. I am very much aware that we are on the edge of the mountain hiking the switchbacks and one wrong move on the cliff could be disastrous.

Trust. I trusted the camel and the guides that they will take us safely to reach the platform of Mt. Sinai while reciting the Hail Mary for this ride will soon pass.

I felt it was the longest ride ever. When we reached the platform and alighted the camel, I kissed the ground.

For the sake of our Muslim guides, I said Allah is good.

*Photo Source:Β Out of Eden WalkΒ by Paul Salopek (National Geographic)

24 thoughts on “Cadillac Ride of the Desert

  1. You are quite courageous to ride a camel. I certainly couldn’t do it. But I do like the image you describe: eyes closed and listening to the calming words, trusting … very nice! Thank you.

    • I do, Amy. Not just yet. I mentioned to Helen that I work full-time and it’s factor in how I use the left over time I have. Have fun. I will enjoy your B&W. Thank you. πŸ™‚

  2. Love a camel story. I rode one for the first time last year in Morocco – we did it for the kids – I felt like such a tourist, but it was fun walking the sand dunes of the Sahara

    • Hi T. Even if you don’t like or make a comment as long as you enjoy the reading the posts. I’m not so chatty either myself as you can see I am very slow in responding. πŸ˜›

    • You see the hump and how the camel is kneeling down? As much as they put a “seat”, I don’t remember it has a stirrup. When it gets up, it starts from its hind legs, the thigh first. Whump, I went forward. Secondly the front legs, double whump-whump = whiplash. It’s a jerky movement unlike a horse. Go try in your next travel. Moracco, maybe?

  3. Hey, how great of you to also ascend Mt. Sinai at night… I had to hike it (with all my gear), and it was a long, long trek but very well worth it. How I looked at those camels I saw with respect ~ πŸ™‚
    Cheers!

    • With your gear in the dark? Yikes, I hope you had Sherpa that helped you carry some of your gear. Loooooonnng trek. I better go check you site to look for your Mt. Sinai post. Yes, hats off to those camels. And thank you. Once is enough. πŸ˜›

      • Ha, ha…didn’t have a sherpa unfortunately, and then had to help a fellow climber by taking their gear as well. Exhausted, but as you know the sunrise and landscape made it all perfect. πŸ™‚

  4. This reminds me of the first time I rode a horse. I had seen it so many times on TV and it looked so easy and fun. I was surprised that I almost fell off the horse when the horse started moving. πŸ˜‰ Thanks for the story.

  5. From personal experience I’d have to say there is NOTHING enjoyable about a camel ride with the exception that one can say… “I’ve ridden a camel”, lol! πŸ™‚

Write it up, write it down, it will make us feel better.

