Oh, I get by with a little help from a friend.

Bees are wonderful and helpful creatures.

bees (1)

Photographing bees with little knowledge on how to make them presentable does give injustice how beautiful they are. It’s difficult to express myself when I am totally in awe with these insects let alone posting an amateur photo. I need instructions on how to progress in photography and maybe it takes buying a new camera.  Obtaining a new one is out of the question since I still haven’t even read the instructions on how to use it!

Looking at photos of great photographers such as Amy’s The World is a Book site, I need guidance on Photography 101. With her kindness, I received plenty of tips and tricks that she left on Your Instruction.

bees (2)

One gains something from a little help from a friend in making myself better. I still have a long way to go and I will get better than this, than I was.

Thank you, Amy, for being the best Bee.

20 thoughts on “Oh, I get by with a little help from a friend.

  1. Nice photo of wasps 🙂 I photograph a lot of bees, myself – the occasional wasp, but bees are my darlings. I agree – they make for great shots.

  2. bees are some of my favourite camera targets too, and i am always happy to see them. in one of my early posts i shared some lessons i have learned in capturing images of them, so feel free to take a look if you like: http://wp.me/p1hfki-1LH
     
    in any case, these ones look a bit like wasps to me, which are just as difficult to capture as bees, since, they move so fast. some cool editing! i’ll have to check out picasa as well.
     
    by the way, where was this image captured?

    • Thank you Kris for linking your post. Excellent! You are one Honey Bee. Wasps, good grief, they are worse than Bees. Good thing these are very busy sucking on all the bubble gum gooey sweetness during the exhibition of head just outside Vancouver Art Gallery.

      This was taken last summer and everybody is welcome to stick gum on it. Gosh, I forgot his name.

      • oh how cool is that! well kind of gross really, but still cool 🙂 i have heard of similar gum displays elsewhere, such as in Seattle, although i never knew about it until recently. so will look for it the next time i visit there.
         
        i somehow missed this one outside the Art Gallery.
         
        glad you enjoyed the bee post 🙂

  3. I love these bee photos, incredible clarity! They are challenging to capture. Well doneE I love the transparent orange color on the 2nd one. Thank you for giving me the credit. If I did help, you are the fastest learner (it was just a day ago) 🙂 Thank you for sharing! ❤

    • When the student is ready, the master will appear! I was ready, eager, did not read any instructions and started to experiment. Walla! Thank you, Amy! ❤

      It will be a tough act to follow because I can't remember what I just did. Tee hee.

      • You pick up way too fast. I normally experiment first, then learn more from the reading instructions. 🙂 Can’t apply it to swimming, of course 😀
        The Tagblogger’s photo page has some basic stuff that I wish I picked up earlier.

      • Tagblogger has so many interesting stuff and I will, for sure, visit him again. I only experimented on this one and I am satisfied with it. My sister who is a follower via e-mail sent me a note that she likes it. When she says she likes it, it means it’s good. 🙂 She’s my critic behind the scene.

Write it up, write it down, it will make us feel better.

