Pushing the Boundaries of Time

Time ishSquire Barnes of Global News explored what actually is an “ish”. So, he went to the finest institution of higher learning and interviewed the students to see what they think?

The question is: If someone is meeting you at twelve “ish”, how much time do you really have to work with.

Women tend to wait at least 15 minutes. Men will wait for a good 30 minutes.

The “ish” is nothing new.

Airlines do it all the time, flights delayed. Buses are always running on an “ish” due to traffic problem. And then there’s the occupation that is most liberal of all, Doctors! To them, an “ish” could be any length of time. As for everyone else, they seem to agree that an “ish” is somewhere within the range of 15 minutes. That’s pretty much industry standard. Certainly no longer than 30, those are the generous ones.

Once you have passed the person’s “ish” boundary, you are officially late.

Being a punctual person, an “ish” is only an excuse for being late and this is where my patience runs out.

So, what’s you take on these questions:

  • What exactly is an “ish”?
  • What are the parameters of an “ish”?
  • What point does an “ish” ran out?

20 thoughts on “Pushing the Boundaries of Time

  1. All I know is that the introduction of cell phones into our world seems to have given people some kind of permission to cancel and be late. Excuses are just a text away. We used to have to actually show up unless there was a real emergency. I miss those old days…

  2. I used to be really punctual when I lived in the U.K. but here in Ireland the attitude is more ish-ish. Now I still try to be on time but somehow I always end up being a bit late because I’m more relaxed about it. When I first moved here we called a man about a gas leak. He said he’d be there straight away – he came two days later. It was our introduction to the laid-back Irish attitude. Nobody really minds when you’re late here because everyone is late. 🙂

  3. I prefer sticking to a time frame. I make sure I leave on time to arrive on time. I expect the same of others but I’m used to the fact that in reality most people have the it acceptable ‘ishes.

  4. Holy crap, I use “ish” all the time. “Ish” is an attempt to blow smoke up the backside of questionable punctuality. Often tossed at the end of answers, “”ish” renders responses vague while attempting to dodge scrutiny with implied “cuteish” forgiveness. I hate myself whenever I “ish” – it simply doesn’t work. Sigh 🙂

Write it up, write it down, it will make us feel better.

