Brunch for one: Sweet and Savory

Food. I need food and there’s hardly any food in my fridge. What can I possibly eat the day after our family Christmas party? I did not bring any “to go” even though I supplied all kinds of cheeses, fruits, bread, crackers and veg and dips. That was my contribution for the party.

My sister wrapped up a platter of noodles and couple of cabbage rolls for me. I just can’t stand the sight of last night’s meal.

What I have is a couple of apples and avocado, a single banana, yogurt, 500 ml 2% milk and cream. This is not really food.

The mall is close. The restaurants, Safeway and Starbucks as well. Maybe I’ll knock on my neighbour’s house and ask them to feed me but I changed my mind.

I remember that I bought bacon.  Yes, BACON!  Cooking Bacon is how I want to end this year. A reward for good behaviour all year round . This is what I call a delight but I have no bread. Oh, the joy of living alone. I might as well eat cat food.

The newspaper mentioned about pancake with bacon. Bacon as the icing on a baked apple pancake and I have the necessary ingredients.

Eggs, milk, sugar, cinnamon, buttermilk pancake mix. These will do.

When it comes to cooking, I really don’t follow the recipe and ingredients. I cut back on the measurements, a pinch of this and a pinch of that. Besides, the recipe always calls for a party of four. Don’t think my cats will eat this.

If you want to try it, here’s the link:  Bacon-apple-pancake recipe.

Matthew Mead/THE ASSOCIATED PRESS This bacon-apple pancake has it all — taking inspiration from upside-down cake and blending savory and sweet flavors.

Matthew Mead/THE ASSOCIATED PRESS
This bacon-apple pancake has it all — taking inspiration from upside-down cake and blending savory and sweet flavors.

And here goes my version. It was good!

P.S. A knock at my door late this afternoon and my good neighbour brought the Turkey’s Pope Nose with homemade cranberry sauce. Gosh, I’m so spoiled.

11 thoughts on “Brunch for one: Sweet and Savory

Write it up, write it down, it will make us feel better.

