The Hummingbirds

Image credit: Bella Remy Photography of Hoof Beats and Foot Prints

Image credit: Bella Remy Photography of Hoof Beats and Foot Prints

“The Hummingbirds”

In this book
there are many hummingbirds—
the blue-throated, the bumblebee, the calliope,
the cinnamon, the Lucifer, and of course
the ruby-throated.

Imagine!

Well, that’s all you can do.
For they’re swift as the wind
and they fly, not across the pages but,
like many shy and other-wordly things,
between them.

I know you’ll keep looking now that I’ve told you.
I’m hungry to see them too, but I can’t
hold them back even for a moment, they’re
busy, as all things are, with their own lives.
So all I can do is let you know
they’re here somewhere.

All I can do is tell you
by putting my own hunger on the page.

Blue Horses:Poems by MARY OLIVER

Emily Carter is the writer and photographer of the blog Hoof Beats and Foot Prints; She is a photojournalist. With her passion  on nature especially the birds, I’ve learned to distinguish all kinds of feathered friends. Not only that, there’s cat and mouse, too, which is my favourite story posted here.

Thank you, Emily, for allowing me to use one of your photos. Perpetua.

13 thoughts on “The Hummingbirds

  1. What a beautiful shot of a hummingbird. Precious! Hummingbirds are getting rare and so are really good people. I bought a hummingbird feeder this year and placed it by the red rose vine but not one visited.

    • Good stuff! Patience. Hummers are shy in the beginning but they will come. Some will stay all year round. In my area they do. Ensure thst the feed is changed keeping them fresh. They will come.

    • Hi Emily, Let me turn around your comment. YOU are my blessings and for such, sharing your magnicent site about nature and your good nature post, others will be equally blessed. Thank you. Perpetua

  2. Feels good to be here. Hummingbirds are fascinating to watch with their wings flapping vigorously yet they are where they are sucking nectar. A great example of “action in inaction” and that’s what we need to be. While we are in the thick of work and stress our mind remains undisturbed and calm. It’s easy to mistake a quiet modest person to be in effective and be impressed by a dynamic “macho” one, yet it may be the former who will be more productive.

    I notice you have a lovely name. Be blessed.

  3. Hello, You may check my post to see my recommendation for your blog.

    I have nominated you for Premio dardos award. Please accept this and it is entirely your wish to do the needful. Love,Soul.

Write it up, write it down, it will make us feel better.

