Body and Soul

The Veiled Lady in the Wind

The Veiled Lady in the Wind

I know how to let my soul out of the business it’s tied up in. I hear my blood singing and boiling, I’m light-headed. And this matter which is my own somewhere on the border of slow disturbance recombines in a chain of primary links.

There in the unbiased ether our essences balance against star weights hurled at the now just trembling scales. The ecstasy of life
lives at this edge – the body’s memory of its immutable homeland.

– Osip Mandelstam translated by Barbara Einzig from “Collected Works” by Osip Mandelstam ed. Struve and Filipoff (Washington D.C.: Interlanguage Associates, 1967) via Parabola

 

Photo Credit:  Stephane Couture ~ Published at National Geographic Daily Dozen on December 19, 2013
“I love to see people standing on the side of the ocean at sunset witnessing this unique moment. We don’t really know if they are day dreaming or just simply enjoying the mesmerizing colors. I was one of them when this veiled lady passed in front of my lens dancing to the sound of the waves with her veil moving to the tempo of the wind. I feel very fortunate to have captured this moment when everything falls into place at the perfect time.”

9 thoughts on “Body and Soul

      • Rivers good, in the sense that it’s nice to with hundreds of Canada Geese. Awhile ago I was in New Brunswick. Beautiful! It was cold when I went, but to look out at the sea and smelling the air … wouldn’t exchange that memory for all the money in the world!

      • NB, lucky you have the memory of it. And you are right, it’s priceless. That’s one place I want to visit soon all the way to PEI.

Write it up, write it down, it will make us feel better.

