Between Mom and Dad

Between Mon and Dad

Between Mon and Dad is Abby.

Abby is a rabbit. In the eyes of these homeless couple coming from Toronto, Abby is their baby. Having Abby in their life brings out their humanity to extend their love to take care of an animal even though they are homeless.

I took this photo in between times on my way home carrying with me a Canon PowerShot SD1000.  It’s just an ordinary camera that helps me get out of my head and self.  Having a camera focuses my thoughts outward rather than inward. Photography is a beautiful technique to relieve mental illness.

Just for fun, I submitted it to National Geographic’s assignment “The Animals We Love” titled Mom, Dad and Baby Abby.

Yesterday, I received an e-mail stating “a National Geographic editor favorited your photo, Mom, Dad and Baby Abby, on Your Shot. Robin Schwartz added your photo Mom, Dad and Baby Abby as a favorite.”

Needless to say, I am elated.

Out of 14,953 submissions, this is one of her 1,401 favorites.  Thank you, Robin!

28 thoughts on “Between Mom and Dad

  1. Well done Pilgrim, there is so much more to this photo than the photo? It is about four beings that fit into one. Your reason to take the snap to get out of yourself, reflected back to self…I see the four of you at peace. I think holding Abby after the event played a part in the photo before you took it? Confusing???? maybe, our mental illness will get better?

  2. Congratulations! 🙂

    Pets do change lives. I experienced it when we got our dog. Whatever we do now as a family, we also have to take our dog’s needs into account.

    It is good to have someone to love – it brings joy to life.

      • OK, maybe I’m a little dense this morning but how do I give you a link at Nat Geo? Is it a website? An email? I could give you my link here if you like. Of course, the easiest would be for you to just click on my name. That should take you directly to my blog!

      • Sorry, Emilio. I misunderstand your comment. I though you are member of NatGeo to enter a contest. I’ll come and visit you. 😛

  3. Congratulations on having your photo chosen as one of the favourites! We used to have a house rabbit, a lot people don’t realise what great pets they are. They are very loyal and you don’t have to keep them in a cage, you can let them wander like a cat or a dog.

  4. You are right. Pets, no matter fish or turtle, dog or cat or rabbit connect us to our humanity because there is something that depends upon us being there no matter where that is or what the circumstances. Great post. >KB

Write it up, write it down, it will make us feel better.

