This is really how it is

I was looking what to post yesterday that is more palatable to readers when it comes to spirituality for Sunday Snippet.  I am very much aware when it comes to the topic of religion, it’s hardly entertained.  Using Parabola is a good source which I posted this morning.  I opted out of sharing what really how it is as my inspiration.  Now, I am sharing with you the original inspiration: The Story of a Soul.

House of Therese of Liseux

House of Therese of Lisieux

“The power of prayer is really tremendous. I cannot hunt through the books for beautiful prayers. There are many of them that I get a headache.  Besides each prayer seems lovelier that the next. I cannot possibly say them all and do not know which to choose. I tell God very simply what I want and He always understands. 

For me, prayer is an upward leap of the heart,
an untroubled glance towards heaven,
a cry of gratitude, and
love which I utter from the depths of sorrows
as well from the heights of joy.
It has a supernatural grandeur
which expands the soul
and unites it with God.

I say an Our Father or a Hail Mary when I feel so spiritually barren that I cannot summon up a single worthwhile thought. These two prayers fill me with rapture and feed and satisfy my soul”

Autobiography of Saint Therese Lisieux, The Story of a Soul, Page 136.

10 thoughts on “This is really how it is

  1. Beautiful prayers of the saints, past and present, are sometimes helpful to me when I just don’t know where to start or feel I have nothing to say. Then I find my voice and can pray from my heart again.

  2. The wonderful thing about God: He doesn’t care about eloquent, lovely, impressive. He hears the groaning of our souls when we arein pain. He cares about the weeping of our hearts. He smiles when we just look at clouds and laugh and say thank you. He doesn’t judge our syntax or grammar. He only wants our love and to love us in return. When i feel spiritually barren, i simply say, Father. I don,t have much going today. I feel tired and empty. Please help me. And He says, my child, rest in the hammock of my grace. My child, let me hold you close. I know you. I love you. Be at peace.

Leave your presence on this space.

