Tour of Duty

Another compelling story.

Pinoy Transplant in Iowa

I am sitting in an airport terminal in Seoul, waiting for my connecting flight back to the US. I have more than four hours of layover here – plenty of time to reflect on the things I have witnessed and places I have been in the past few days.

As I look around on this beautiful airport in South Korea, its sturdy structure, its opulent stores, the distant city skyscrapers glistening in the morning sun, I noted that all these provide stark contrast to the place I have just come from. It is a place where there was utter destruction everywhere I looked; what was left was a ghostly reminder of a once thriving city.

The place I went to was Tacloban.

We arrived in Tacloban 2 weeks after super typhoon Haiyan (local name Yolanda) basically wiped out the city. After seeing the horrific news of the calamity day after day…

View original post 922 more words

5 thoughts on “Tour of Duty

Write it up, write it down, it will make us feel better.

