I will always love you.

It’s time to go for a walk.  I do that when a feeling of existential angst that wants to take over the day.  That was the day knowing when I come home, Nymeria will be somewhere far away from my reach. 
Walking to work first thing in the morning helps me clear my head and heart.  I get off the bus midway to work.  It takes 15 minutes of good brisk walking. 
I meet all kinds of people early in the morning and this particular morning, I saw him.  I haven’t seen him for a long time thinking that he must have died.  I was so excited.  He was sitting by the curb and I joined him. 
How are you?  Where have you been?  What happened to you?  Too many questions from me at 7:30 in the morning.  
So he told me he just came out of the hospital and that he cut his foot.  Yes, I can see he is still wearing the bracelet.  Mr. Archibald is written on the tag.  
He can’t remember where we met and I have to refresh his memory.  We met at the Life in the Spirit seminar, a charismatic movement.  I remember him a lot.  He taught me humility and compassion. 
Here is a man who is filed with the Spirit.  But what I saw at the time, he is an alcoholic and a panhandler.  He came in intoxicated with Listerine and comes in to panhandle while at the seminar.  That was my first impression of him.  As the weeks progressed, I see him participating and I am moved with his testimonies.  
In the end, I swallowed my pride since it’s not fattening and gave my testimony to the group how the Spirit moves in me.  I spoke about him and I apologized to him for judging him.  He came up to me and said “Sister, I forgive you.”  
That is my memory of Mr. Archibald. 
At the curb, we spoke about how much he loves God.  He even tattooed his forehead with the sign of the cross.  
I can smell the Listerine in his breath.  There is a brown bag with a bottle of Listerine beside him.  And I said, are you still in to that?  He just smiled.  
Time for me to go and just before I left, he asked for a change.  I said to him, you know better than that.  I can only give you my attention but not money.  I don’t want to cater to your delinquency. 
A quick hug I gave him and I was off. 
“I will always love you” he shouted. 
Reflecting on these words: are these words his or were these words came from the Spirit through the lips of Mr. Archibald? 

21 thoughts on “I will always love you.

  1. Reminds me of this: Jeremiah 31:3 The Lord appeared to us in the past, saying: “I have loved you with an everlasting love; I have drawn you with unfailing kindness”

      • I I do believe in spirit guiding us. I believe every move we make any decision we make Spirit is always there to guide us. I loved the post and am looking forward to reading more. I have missed out on some but I will catch up. God bless you.

  2. The Spirit speaks through many. You received the gift by listening something that many of us need to learn to do, just listen! Wonderful!

  3. Awww, Perpetua, you have the soul of a saint, and the resolution of a kind hearted mule! I mean that in a nice way 🙂 I love this anecdote so much; you’ve made my day! Thank you for sharing this with us! 🙂

  4. Wonderful story. Spirit speaks through many. All of the time. Most of the time, we are not listening. You were listening, not judging and received the gift. 😉

Leave your presence on this space.

