Music – A Universal Language

Music, in my opinion, must have started way before the formation of words and became a sentence. 
To cite an example, my sister #4 when she was pregnant, she attached a head phone on her big tummy and played classical music for the baby.  Apparently, the baby was responding to the sound of music.  Gave birth to my nephew and he became a talented piano player.  To torment his lovely Mother, I gave him a musical score of “Sting” the movie.  So, every time I come and visit, I asked him to play The Entertainer. 
Then when the baby is born, mothers just love to sing or hum the song Rock A Bye Baby. ….  down come baby, cradle and all.”  Scary song … no wonder we grow up with a broken heart.  I found this song in the You Tube with a warning.  Seriously. 
We, Filipinos, love to sing but we can’t seem to carry a tune.  In a bus load full of pilgrims, we sing a lot of hymns. By the end of the trip, my ears are bent that I long for peace and quiet.  Here’s a copy of the e-mail I sent out to my fellow pilgrims. 
Please join me, follow this instruction, extend your hand to bless someone, sing joyfully this song and scroll down. 
May the blessings of the Lord be upon you
We bless you in the name of the Lord
May the blessings of the Lord be upon you
We bless you in the name of the Lord. 
I said joyfully!
Father M:  Since you are the best singer in the group, please lead us.
What key is this?
Hmm…
Off key, did you say?
Me,me,me… la-la-la-la, do re me fa so la ti do
Let’s start again.
A one, a two, a one two three… 
STOP! 
You guys sound like we are still on pilgrimage.
It’s hurting my ears.
16 days of singing together is more than I can bear.
Too bad I can’t find a good singer in YouTube to attach a link.
What I found were Filipinos singing off key.
Sounds familiar, huh.
I’ll spare you the torture.
Ugh! 
Anyway,
Just sing it in your head and heart.
Inner voice.
Ah….
Much better.
Music to my ears.
And now….
view the attachment. (censored: Request denied to post the picture in my blog)
8=))  Cheers! /mps  
There are only two Filipino singers I like: Lea Salongo and my cousin Val.  Val sang this song at CBC one early morning.  Too bad I don’t have enough time to share it with you. Can’t get a hold of Val at the wee hour of the morning in Face Book.  Here’s the musical score. 
 
This is in response to Daily Prompt: Musical.  Come and join us, it’s fun.  God Bless you all.
 

15 thoughts on “Music – A Universal Language

  1. Thank you. I definitely can’t sing but am grateful my daughter fills the house with beautiful music. I sing along at Church and in the car- always off key!

Write it up, write it down, it will make us feel better.

