January 5, 2013 Notes to file: On Giving

January 5, 2013 Notes to file: 
Not much to do on a rainy Saturday day especially when I am nursing my colds.  I came across with this article from The Globe and Mail about giving: how many Canadians give and other trends in Canadian philanthropy .  Mind you, it’s about Canada.  Should you be interested in pursuing the links, replace Canada with your own native land.  Or just read to give you insight about giving. 
Two schools of thoughts came up to mind about giving: 
Firstly, Khalil Gibran on Giving
I am more familiar with his poem way before I became familiar with giving in my faith.  And I quote: “You give but little when you give of your possessions. It is when you give of yourself that you truly give.”  
I participated in the Globe and Mail on “How has your giving changed in the last five years?”  I have changed so much over the years in the way how I give.  I no longer think that in giving one has to deserve it.  I give because I want to I give, from my heart. 
Here’s a story a few years ago.  On the way to work, early morning, a man stopped me and asked if I could spare him a change to buy breakfast.  Oh, he’s hungry I thought.  And I asked him if it’s okay by him, he can have my lunch.  Actually, I was more embarrassed to say this to him.  I took out my sandwich from my back pack and offered it to him.  He accepted it.  .  “What about you?  You’ll get hungry?”  I was so moved by his response knowing full well he was hungry that minute.  I said to him, it’s more important that you eat right now, I’ll think about my own hunger when it comes.  Did he say thank you to me?  I cannot remember; it’s not important.  What’s important was his response to me that surprised and delighted me to this very day.  I did not see that man again and I wonder what happened to him. 
I browsed further what other thinks on giving and guess who I stumbled upon along the way? eof737: Mirth and Motivation .  I just have to share her thoughts.  Good one “e”. 
Secondly, Mark 12:41-44: The Poor Widow’s Contribution
“He sat down opposite the treasury and observed how the crowd put money into the treasury.  Many rich people put in large sums.  A poor widow also came and put in two small coins worth a few cents.  Calling his disciples to himself, he said to them, “Amen, I say to you, this poor widow put in more than all the other contributors to the treasury.  For they have all contributed from their surplus wealth, but she, from her poverty, has contributed all she had, her whole livelihood.” 
I ponder upon this scripture and I allow my God show me the way. 
To take part on the Globe and Mail:  click on the links below: 
http://www.theglobeandmail.com/life/giving/vote-how-has-your-giving-changed-in-the-last-five-years/article640236/
http://www.theglobeandmail.com/life/giving/how-many-canadians-give-and-other-trends-in-canadian-philanthropy/article4223276/

12 thoughts on “January 5, 2013 Notes to file: On Giving

  1. That Kahlil Gibran quote / poem is one of my most favourite (and, as I grow older, most sad) quotes: You give but little when you give of you possessions. It’s when you give of yourself…. Where I live, most people are interested in what you can GIVE in terms of possessions. It’s all they can recognize, I suppose. Sometimes i find it all extremely depressing.

  2. Beautiful post.
    Life would be so much better if people learned it isn’t always about the material things, but what we can give of ourselves that matter. Manners, kindness and a sense of humanity are bestowed upon us the day we are born, and we should use them freely to enrich the lives of others. 🙂

    • It would be easier, yes. Sometimes, life itself gets in the way and people have short memory. And that’s where I come in to correct myself, constant awareness._/\_

Leave your presence on this space.

